3 domains of the philippine territory

Article I NATIONAL TERRITORY - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

At present, the territorial sea of the Philippines based on the Archipelagic Doctrine runs at miles. Map of the British North Borneo with the yellow area covered the Philippine claim to eastern Sabah, presented by the Philippine Government to ICJ on June 25, [3] Between and s, the Sultanate of Sulu acquiring the 3 domains of the philippine territory part of the territory of northern Borneo after helping the Bruneian forces in settling a civil war.

However, up to this day, several Philippine legislators claim that the island cannot be part of Indonesia today because the ethnic group living in this island is far more related by language to the Sarangani people of Mindanao than any ethnic group in Indonesia e.

The Philippines who already achieved its independence from the United States under the administration of President Diosdado Macapagal however protested the formation of Malaysia and filed claims to the whole territory of northern Borneo.

Panatag Shoal or internationally known as Scarborough is being claimed by China asserting on its claim through the name of the sea where it is located amidst its short distance from the shores of Zambales province and having been a regular fishing ground of the Filipino locals.

The convention introduced a number of provisions. However, the Treaty does not prohibit the placement of conventional weapons in orbit. This is an imaginary line that determines the size and breadth of the territorial sea which a country occupies.

The EEZs were introduced to halt the increasingly heated clashes 3 domains of the philippine territory fishing rights, although oil was also becoming important.

It shall equally protect the life of the mother and the life of the unborn from conception. The coastal state is free to set laws, regulate use, and use any resource. Vessels were given the right of "innocent passage" through any territorial waters, with strategic straits allowing the passage of military craft as "transit passage", in that naval vessels are allowed to maintain postures that would be illegal in territorial waters.

Foreign states may also lay submarine pipes and cables. Under the Palmas decision, three important rules for resolving island territorial disputes were decided: Within this area, the coastal nation has sole exploitation rights over all natural resources. Likewise, multiple engagements and arrests of Chinese fishermen were already Google archived news articles made at the shoal by the Philippine Navy for using illegal fishing methods and catching of endangered sea species.

The island is located between MindanaoPhilippines and the northernmost island, known as Nanusaof what was the former Netherlands East Indies. The State shall promote social justice in all phases of national development.

The convention set the limit of various areas, measured from a carefully defined baseline. Other features claimed by the Philippines are either occupied by Vietnam, China, Taiwan or Malaysia or unoccupied by any other countries.

InSpain ceded the Philippines to the United States and Palmas sat within the boundaries of that cession to the U. The archipelago doctrine has been embodied in the Convention of the Law of the Sea, with the modification that archipelagic sealanes shall be designated over the internal waters through which foreign vessels shall have the right of passage.

The Sulu Archipelago then came under the control of Spanishwhile the area in northern Borneo was administered by the British. Most new claimants and several Philippine politicians today using the Malaysian lease payment of 5, as their main excuse to overtake the territory as well using it as a reason on the International Court of Justice ICJ.

The State shall give priority to education, science and technology, arts, culture, and sports to foster patriotism and nationalism, accelerate social progress, and promote total human liberation and development SECTION Finally, if another sovereign begins to exercise continuous and actual sovereignty, and the arbitrator required that the claim had to be open and public and with good titleand the discoverer does not contest this claim, the claim by the sovereign that exercises authority is greater than a title based on mere discovery.

However, the article on the national territory in the — and current — Constitution refers to "all other territories over which the Philippines has sovereignty or jurisdiction", while the Constitution mentions "all the other territories belonging to the Philippines by historic right or legal title", considered to be less flexible than the formulation.

In the Philippines, our national territory is stated clearly in Article 1 of the Constitution: Sabah which is part of the Sultanate of Sulu was leased to the Dutch colony during the North Borneo Chartered company.

The national territory comprises the Philippine archipelago, with all the islands and waters embraced therein, and all the other territories belonging to the Philippines by historic right or legal title, including the territorial sea, the air space, the subsoil, the sea-bed, the insular shelves, and the submarine areas over which the Philippines has sovereignty or jurisdiction.

The Philippines established a municipality named Kalayaan under the province of Palawan for all the features that it occupies Pag-asa island Main article:The Philippines claims 52 features in the Spratly Island group.


Among these, the Philippines was only able to occupy 7 islands and 2 reefs. 1) the Philippine archipelago; 2) all other territories over which the Philippines has sovereignty or jurisdiction PHILIPPINE ARCHIPELAGO – that body of water studded with islands which is delineated in the Treaty of Paris (), as amended by the Treaty of Washington () and the Treaty with Great Britain ().

[pic] Map of the Republic of the Philippines National Territory of the Philippines (Article I) The national territory comprises the Philippine archipelago, with all the islands and waters embraced therein, and all other territories over which the Philippines has sovereignty or jurisdiction, consisting of its terrestrial, fluvial, and aerial domains.

3 Domains Of The Philippine Territory. Politics and Governance with Philippine Constitution BSIT II.

Territories claimed by the Philippines

Article I - National Territory SECTION 1. The Philippine Territorial Boundaries and the laws the binds it. Scarborough Shoal, Spratlys, Benham Rise, Kalayaan Group of Islands.

Agusan Tribe, Butuan, Balangay The Island of Palmas was part of the Philippine Islands territory claim during the American colonial period on the basis of being discovered by Spain where United.

This contiguous zone is not appurtenant to Philippine territory. For a coastal state to assume pertinent rights, it must make a specific claim to its contiguous zone. If no contiguous zone is claimed or declared, the rights that may otherwise pertain to the contiguous are deemed to be subsumed in those pertaining to the territorial sea.


3 domains of the philippine territory
Rated 3/5 based on 17 review