The economic community of west african

It determines the composition of any such subsidiary commission. However, the very slow progress towards economic and monetary integration meant that the Treaty of Lagos was revised in Cotonou on 24 Julytowards a looser collaboration.

A revised version of the treaty was agreed and signed on 24 July in Cotonou. Liberia and Sierra Leone have expressed an interest in joining the eco. These meetings are attended by the Chief Executives of the RECs and some of their respective senior officials such as Commissioners and Directors.

Beyond their role in peace and security, RECs have the immense challenge of working with governments, civil society and the AU Commission in raising the standard of living of the people of Africa and contributing towards the progress and development of the continent through economic growth and social development.

The Authority determines the general policy and major guidelines of the Community and gives directives.

Foster direct dialogue and interaction between the RECs and the international community, particularly potential partners, on areas where there has been progress, as well as existing gaps and priorities that require greater input and support, including through enhanced partnerships.

This followed the recognition of the fact that though increasingly integral to the work of both the UN and the AU in the areas of peace, security, socio-economic development and regional integration, the RECs did not have a regular platform to showcase their work at the UN Headquarters.

The currency they all use is the CFA francwhich is pegged to the euro.

International Democracy Watch

Community Tribunal The treaty of provides for a Community Tribunal, whose composition and competence are determined by the Conference of Heads of State and Government.

The Tribunal interprets the provisions of the treaty and settles disputes between member states that are referred to it. The RECs will be highly essential and instrumental for the effective implementation, financing, monitoring and evaluation of Agenda and its flagship programmes, at particularly the regional levels.

Draft rules of procedure for the Court are being finalised. A General Secretariat, under the authority of the Speaker of Parliament, is responsible for the administration of Parliament. The Authority may, whenever it deems appropriate, restructure the existing Commissions or establish new Commissions.

African Economic Community

During these meeting, the RECs and the UN also identify priority as well as cross cutting issues, and exchange views on means and ways of strengthening the engagement and cooperation with the UN and with the international community as a whole.

A Decision dated 12 January defines the process by which regional executives can make referrals to the Parliament. An extraordinary session may be convened by the Chairman of the Authority or at the request of a Member State provided that such a request is supported by a simple majority of the Member States.

The restructuring of the Executive Secretariat was approved at the summit in December On 17 October ECOWAS had asked Niger to postpone its controversial 20 October elections, but the elections had been boycotted by members of the opposition as President Tandja Mamadou faced accusations of trying to lengthen his reign.

To this end, unless otherwise provided in the Treaty or a Protocol, Council makes recommendations to the Authority on any action aimed at attaining the objectives of the Community, and appoints all statutory appointees other than the Executive Secretary.

The office of the Chairman is held every year by a Member State elected by the Authority. By the powers delegated to it by the Authority, the Council issues directives on matters concerning coordination and harmonization of economic integration policies.

The Authority is responsible for the general direction and control of the Community and take all measures to ensure its progressive development and the realization of its objectives.

ECOWAS - Economic Community of West African States

The court will address complaints from member states and institutions of ECOWAS, as well as issues relating to defaulting nations. Each Commission may, as it deems necessary, set up subsidiary commissions to assist it in carrying out its work.

Executive Secretariat The Executive Secretary is elected for a four-year term, which may be renewed once only.Economic Community of West African States: Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), African organization established by the Treaty of Lagos in May to promote economic trade, cooperation, and self-reliance.

The organization seeks to harmonize agricultural policies and to facilitate the free movement of peoples, services, and.

Economic Community of West African States

economic community of west african states (ecowas) revised treaty published by the ecowas executive secretariat, abuja, nigeria revised trea ty of the economic communi ty. The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is a regional organisation of 15 West African countries established on 28 May Its main goal is the promotion of the economic integration among its members.

Africa's Regional Economic Communities (RECs) include eight sub regional bodies which are the building blocks of the African Economic Community established in the Abuja Treaty which provides.


The Economic Community of West African States was established by the Treaty of Lagos signed by fifteen West African Heads of State and Government of in May 28, The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is made up of fifteen member countries that are located in the Western African region.

These countries have both cultural and geopolitical ties and shared common economic interest.

The economic community of west african
Rated 4/5 based on 8 review